PDA

View Full Version : Playing offhanded

bluewolf
04-30-2003, 11:01 AM
Kato~~~is jealous of anyone who can play off handed.

WW remembers this differently. There were certain easy rail shots or easy cuts that I could not get to with my right. I started using my left. My stroke on that side was wobbly and my bridge was even worse. I hated the mechanical bridge and at that time, did not really know how to use one.

I could barely get in this 'offhanded'shots. I started practicing just a little with it and in time, my stroke and bridge got a little better.

In time I became almost as good with both hands. This was not an automatic thing at all.

ww also started learning offhanded but it is more natural to me because, well I think, my dominance is not as strong as his, but for me, it was over time and trying to correct certain deficiencies.

Just start trying it. It does come in handy from time to time.

Laura

Perk
04-30-2003, 11:32 AM
Offhanded can save you in a few shots and is definately worth it to practise alittle. As competitive as you sound Laura, it is my opinion though, that you should focus solely on your natural hand. I only say this, because to improve you must practise consistently the same, especially at the lower level stage.

I believe that as much time that you put on this board that you obviously enjoy the game. I also believe that you must get alot of practise time on a real pool table. I think that it would be easy for you to get up to a 4/5 level or whatever your goals are if you concentrate on one hand only. There are only a few shots that you need to work on with the off hand to save you in a pinch, so it can be wasted time. Just my thoughts, and good luck with the remaining weeks of APA.

Fred Agnir
04-30-2003, 11:39 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote bluewolf:</font><hr> Just start trying it. It does come in handy from time to time.<hr /></blockquote>

I'll echo, or reiterate or something. No I won't. I'll just link.