PDA

View Full Version : Played in my first handicapped tournament

Predator314
05-05-2003, 07:07 AM
I played in my first handicapped tournament yesterday. It was a 9 ball tournament. The way the handicaps were set up were as follows:

There were 4 shooting levels (3's, 4's, 5's, & 6's). It was a loser break format and you raced to your shooting level. The only time it wasn't loser break was if a 3 was shooting a non 3. The 3 got the break.

I was put in as a 6, so I had to spot games (and breaks) to everyone I played except in my last match. I ended up getting 4th (I got beat by a 4 and a 6). It was a pretty tough format because you cannot let up on anyone. Even the weakest player could take you down.

I've been shooting for over 10 years now. This was my first handicapped tournamnet. They just don't have them in my area.

jjinfla
05-05-2003, 07:24 AM
I enjoy the race to your handicap tournament better than the spot ball tournaments. Especially if they limit it to 6's or 7's and under. They had one every saturday but unfortunately they dropped it. Now they do have a race to your handicap on sunday's but it is open to everyone and when the really good 9's or 10's enter then it is pretty hard to come in the money. But it is okay in that it really shows how much there is still to learn in this game. Especially when an 8 or 9 mops the floor with me and then I see someone who is around the shortstop level mop the floor with him. It makes me wonder just how good the pros really have to be. Jake

Fred Agnir
05-05-2003, 08:06 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Predator314:</font><hr> It was a pretty tough format because you cannot let up on anyone. <hr /></blockquote>Is there a tournament format that you can let up on anyone?

Fred &lt;~~~ loses when he let's up

L.S. Dennis
05-05-2003, 08:41 AM