PDA

View Full Version : Getting Mixed Up In The Wrong Side Of Pool

Ketchup
05-06-2003, 10:57 AM
Just wondering if anyone else has ever been in my boat. I've been playing seriously for about 2 years. I started making pool my life. I'd rather gamble than pay rent on time. I started missing work so I could go watch big money matches. I couldn't stand to leave the pool hall in fear I would miss some action. My game improved quickly, as did my addiction. I got worse as time went by. I finally got fed up with my lifestyle. Pool was my passion, my drug. I miss the game greatly. I quit to get my priorities straight. I want to start back but control my gambling and playing time. I have a beautiful woman who I plan to marry and a beautiful daughter. They have shown me the meaning of life instead of pool. I played A.P.A. for the first time a few years ago. Our team won city's, and went to Vegas. We placed 17th-24th. Could of done better but we got jacked up 3 times, our handicapps that is. We just lost our next match on purpose and took the money. That was the funnest time of my life.

eg8r
05-06-2003, 11:16 AM
[ QUOTE ]
My game improved quickly, as did my addiction. .... I quit to get my priorities straight. I want to start back but control my gambling and playing time.<hr /></blockquote> I hope I don't come across as rude or insensitive, but...Why in the heck do you need to gamble when you start playing? If you know you have a weakness with gambling and you obviously feel it might strain your financial situation and affect your gf and daughter, don't do it. I would suggest saving your money, buy a table or the house and play there. Invite friends over to play, or go to the pool hall. Just make a commitment not to gamble any more.