PDA

View Full Version : My Fundamentals

GreenLion
05-10-2003, 12:23 AM
Tonight during my practice i noticed that my forearm was moving as i followed thru and this was cuasing all kinds of problems. /ccboard/images/graemlins/frown.gifAfter working on it i was able to inprove it by working on my rythem but it still effecting me on and off.Im probaly just having an off day.Does anybody know any exercises i could do to improve it further?

bluewolf
05-10-2003, 05:10 AM
I would post Scott Lee and get a lesson from him or someone else near you who is experienced and can evaluate your stroke.

A good stoke is crucial to pool. I have been fortunate to have good instruction and so i have a good stroke and all around fundamentals. After that, imo, it is a matter of practice and shooting a bunch of balls.

For instance, I have been playing pool regularly for 8 months or so.I have good fundamentals due to good instruction and practicing the things I was taught. I shoot pretty decent for the time I have played regularly.

There is a time factor. Pool is a complex game and I think it takes time to be really good.I do not know how long you have been playing or how regularly, but in my case, it is just a matter of time and experience or lack thereof.

Now I play in a league and watch all kinds of players. I have seen some who were just natural atheletes get pretty decent without a good stroke. It seems though, that they reach a plateau, at least 95% or so of them, that they cannot get past without good stroke etc. Those with similar talent AND a good stroke seem to get to get better players because there are not poor fundamentals holding them back.