PDA

View Full Version : Robinson Cue

Anonamus
05-14-2003, 06:57 AM
I've been playing 1 pocket with this group for a couple of years. One of the guys has a collection of high end cues that he brings with him and lets me play with anyone I want. Once I pick out a cue I will play with it for 5 to 6 hours so I'm definitely getting a feel for it.

I've played with 4 different Black Boars, Southwest, Joel Hercek, Thomas Wayne, Phillippi, Frey, Scruggs, Joss, Guffey, Palmer, Robinson, McDaniels and probably some others.

The cues I like the best are the Black Boars but they are a bit too flexible in the shaft. The cue I play the best with is the Robinson ES61. It feels balanced in my hand and I make cut shots much more consistently with it. Since it is such a stiff playing cue I have to stoke it properly to get the ball to dance, but when I do the ball responds beautifully. It's not like a Meucci where you can load up the shaft and spin the ball like crazy. When I go back to my Schon, it doesn't feel right and I'm not as consistent.

The problem I have is I have not heard or read anything good about the Robinson. No one likes the metal on metal joint because it hits stiff, not to mention the shaft is 13 1/2". So, I probably will find it next to impossible to sell if I decide I don't want it anymore.

I'm not going to mention the price because we haven't decided on one yet, but I will tell you it is pricey. Especially compared to some other better known and more sought after cues. In fact, I feel the cue is over priced right from Robinson himself.

So, do I pay the money and forget about resale because of the way I play with it, or do I pass and keep looking for something less expensive and more popular?

Rich R.
05-14-2003, 07:52 AM
Just a note, in addition to what Popcorn said, you can change the shaft size or get a new shaft for this cue, but don't expect it to hit the same. Changing the diameter of the shaft will surely change the way it hits.