PDA

View Full Version : 9 ball vs 8 ball sl

bluewolf
05-14-2003, 02:36 PM
When someone here says they are sl6, 7 or whatever, is it a 9ball sl or an 8ball sl?

Something else I would like to know. Since 9ball goes 1-9 and 8ball is 2-7, are the numbers equivalent or are there just smaller increments in 9ball?

Laura

KerryM
05-14-2003, 02:57 PM
Laura,
I have played APA 8-Ball for about 5 years or so. I recently started playing 9-Ball too, for about 1 year. I have about 25 matches. I think that the skill levels are really specific to each game. I think they are roughly equivalent, but they mean different things. The 8-Ball skill level tells you more about the person's pattern play, strategy etc. The 9-ball skill level tells you about their position skills and runout ability. Obviously all of these qualities are present in both games, I'm just saying which ones are emphasized in each. I think the 7 ranking counts for a little more in 8 ball than in 9 ball. However, in 8-ball there is no limit to how good you can be, and still be ranked only a 7. I play in a "double jeopardy" league, in which we play 8 ball and 9 ball at the same time on two separate tables-like two totally separate matches, but with the same two teams. This gives me a good perspective on how the SL's differ. Let's say I'm going to play a 6 in 9 ball. I would be more nervous if he/she were a 7 in 8-ball than if they were a 6. This is because I think you really have to know how to play to be a 7--you have to play smart. On the other hand, if I play a 7 in 8 ball who is a 7 in 9 ball, I think to myself that he might not be that great of a 7, since he doesn't have the runout power to be an 8 or 9 in 9-ball. I am a 7 in 8-ball and an 8 in 9-ball. I would say I am a strong 7 in 8-ball, and a so so 8 in 9-ball. I would consider myself a "B" player. There are 7's in 8-ball who are C players, and 7's who are A players. If an A player were to play a C player even in 9 ball, it would be a slaughter. That is why