PDA

View Full Version : Cue ball control

bluewolf
05-15-2003, 05:48 AM
I started playing in APA in the fall session 1999 as an sl2. I could not stand dc so after playing a few times, I went back to my home town of Roanoke, va, and we were going to try to move there.

There was no APA and the other league had all the spots filled already.

I had originally competed on 8 ft. I ocassionally went to this pool hall in Roanoke that charged 2.50 and hour and the choice was coin operated bar boxes and 9 fts. I had my first real introduction to 9fts.

These two older gentleman came in every day to play one-pocket. I guess that is where my interest started in that game.

Anyway, they were real nice and would sometimes talk to me and give me tips. I once stated that I was getting pretty good at shooting but did not have cue ball control. One of the men replied, "well, that is the whole game!"

This made a big impression on me. Then I realized that a person can 'shoot the lights out', but until they can put that cb where they want it, they are only going so far.

Now just by osmosis I guess, am getting to be a decent shooter because I have been practicing a lot since the season was ended. Also by encouragement here, discovered I could shoot better than I thought I could.

I thought I could not do shape. I found out that I was already doing it, but at a rudimentary level. I was using cheat the pocket, English rarely, lots of top,bottom and centerball but mostly looking at the tangent line and adjusting speed for action off of the rails.

I could usually end up at the right end of the table and the right side of the table, but was missing the finer aspects and often gave myself a harder cut than I would have if I was more skilled.

In watching apa sevens and good sixes, I realized I needed to bump to the next level of shape proficiency so that I can become better at pool. So now, every eveninng, ww gives me shape lessons, to help me with that.