PDA

View Full Version : What constitutes a combination?

PeterP
05-17-2003, 12:44 PM
Newbie here, trying to get an understanding of the rules. I understand that if you hit the cue ball into the one-ball which in turn hits the two-ball into the pocket, that's a combination. But what if you pocket the one-ball by glancing it off the two-ball? Is that also a "combination"? The reason I am asking is in the official BCA rules, you can't sink the 8-ball legally (in a game of 8-ball) by a "combination". So if you hit the 8-ball and it glances off one of your opponents' remaining balls, into the called pocket, is that legal? My thinking is it depends on the definition of "combination" which I haven't pinned down yet. Thx for any input.

Rod
05-17-2003, 01:20 PM
Kissing off another ball is refered to as a carom. Some may say, combo the 8 off another ball though. It is legal to carom the 8 off your opponents ball and a win if you call the pocket.

Rod

Tom_In_Cincy
05-17-2003, 01:54 PM
PeterP,
A combination is using the same group ball (9-15 if you are shooting stripes and 1-7 if you are shooting solids) to directly hit the intended ball you want to pocket.

When shooting the 8 ball you don't have any of your group's balls left, so, you can't use a combination. You can't hit your opponent's ball to pocket the 8, because that would be a foul. The only ball you can leagally hit first when shooting at the 8 is the 8 ball.

But, you can hit the 8 first and then the 8 can hit your opponent's ball (this is called a carom) and the 8 go into your called pocket. Also, as long as you can hit your group's ball first, you can carom into your opponents ball (or even the 8 ball) to make the shot.. this is all very legal.

Hope this helps

PeterP
05-17-2003, 08:14 PM