PDA

View Full Version : Where do you grip?

UWPoolGod
05-27-2003, 01:14 AM
I was told the other day via e-mail by a good teacher that if I am gripping the cue back by the buttcap there is something wrong with my form.

I am 6'3" and a 58" cue seems short so I grip it further back. I was at my favorite poolhall tonight where there are windows between two separated rooms. So I looked at my form in the window shooting straight at it and from the side. My stroke is straight as I face the window. From the side I have a 90 degree with cue/forearm, and forearm/upperarm.

I told him I was getting a 60 inch cue and he says it is not needed.

Seems like I am not doing anything wrong, I still run tables from back there. Just want to know where you all grip the cue versus how tall you are and what length cue you are using.

Misel
05-27-2003, 02:27 AM
Hi,
Don,t worry about that if you ask me.My friend who also played in WC in Cardiff the last two years is very tall and plays with a 58" Bludworth and he grips the cue at the very back end and doesn,t have any problems.He constantly runs 100,s in straight pool and plays great 9-ball.If you have the 90 degree angle and grip the cue lightly don,t worry about anything else.Good luck,
Misel

05-27-2003, 03:41 AM
well, i would'nt worry to much about that either, but ftr (for the record ) i usually grip my cue about and inch from the ballance point, or sometimes in the middle. I try to keep it even not to much forward & not to much back. just enought, but i know short & tall players that hold the cue at the very end and it does'nt seem to bother their shot.

bluewolf
05-27-2003, 05:56 AM
If a person has a long bridge and is very tall, I see nothing wrong with a 60' cue. I have beeen told by a good instructor that the correct place to grip the cue is where the forearm is perpendicular.

I have seen good players that hold it back further.