PDA

View Full Version : Illegal jump shot ?!?

Snyder1
05-30-2003, 08:49 PM
First off, lemme say I'm a relative newbie, but have progressed exponentially from when I started a year ago or so. Well, I feel like I got blindsided today. The guy that taught me is a very good player & plays in a 9 ball league. He shoots a jump shot frequently, but come to find out, its called a "scoup shot". I've spent the last few months perfecting it & have to say, I've gotten really good at it & rarely miss. When playing out of town today, I was told that it is an illegal shot, and if I continued shooting it, I would be shown the door. Needless to say, I feel like I've wasted a whole lot of time on this shot if its not legal. I was told you have to hit down on the ball to jump it legally. I can't imagine how one would go about jumping a ball in this way & figured you folks might be able to help me with the theory & required technique (I have read about short jump cues with hard composite tips ... is this type of equipment required for a down struck jump shot ?). Much appreciated all...

John

05-30-2003, 09:39 PM
Snyder, you were told correctly it is incorrect / illegal to shoot a jump shot using a scoop ( shooting at the bottom of the cb untill it leaps over another ob to pocket the intented ob of yours) the proper way to jump is to raise the but of the cue 20-40 or more depending on you, and shoot down on the cb. you can get Robert Brynes Video on this, i have about 2 extra copies of brynes tape part 2 where he talks about jumping, if you would like to get a copy i can copy tapes 1 & 2 and send them to you.

sorry to hear that your teacher led you in the wrong direction.

John G
05-30-2003, 10:11 PM
Yesss, scooping is illegal. Nothing can contact the cue ball butt the tip, when you 'scoop' op the ball your lifting it with the ferrule.