PDA

View Full Version : My dog eat my CD.- HELP



Qtec
06-09-2003, 09:13 AM
Can anybody help me please.
I was bought a PC game, Vp3[ virtual pool]. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
I havent even played it yet because my mad dog thinks cd,s are a new kind of frisbee and he totally destoyed it! I thought cd,s were indestuctable ,apparently not. Knowing my dog, i had the foresight to make a copy. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
To get the game to run i needed a "crack". This i now have .Bearing in mind that i am a novice in computers,my question is;
What do i do with it ? /ccboard/images/graemlins/confused.gif


Q

eg8r
06-09-2003, 10:16 AM
Doesn't sound like a backup copy. /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif Especially with your likeness to Kazaa.

With the crack, probably came a txt file that will explain how to use it. Of the ones that I have seen, you just run the executable (it can unlock the s/w, or give you a SN). Most of the cracks/keygens that I have seen are pretty easy to use.

Good Luck,

eg8r

Qtec
06-09-2003, 10:36 AM
This is a genuine 100% copy ,paid with hard cash . /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
At least that,s what the guy in the alley told me. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif Kazaa ? Sounds like a breakfast cereal !

This is what the txt says; [ QUOTE ]
Don't forget to copy the cracked executable over after installing.
<hr /></blockquote>

If you want to explain this to me ,you will have to speak English or Dutch. I told you , i am a COMPLETE novice.

Q

PoolChick02
06-09-2003, 09:08 PM
A friend of mine told me that he uses the cracks for downloading stuff. So, maybe you can find the game on a site like Kazaa or get the game from someone's PC to download. Sorry if this post wasn't any help. Hope you can get the help you need so you can start playing the game!

stickman
06-09-2003, 10:01 PM
Sorry, I don't know a better way to help you, but you can download VP3 from Kazaa, complete with serial#. I have it on mine. I bought VP2 but it's on my soon to be ex-wife's computer. Kazaa is a nice file sharing program where you can download music, software, videos, images, and all sorts of things. The only downside is that it also installs spyware with the program, and it is wise to have good up to date virus protection. Of course, that's always wise. I have a program to eliminate the spyware, but every time you use Kazaa it gets reinstalled.

highsea
06-10-2003, 02:33 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Qtec:</font><hr> Can anybody help me please.
I was bought a PC game, Vp3[ virtual pool]. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
I havent even played it yet because my mad dog thinks cd,s are a new kind of frisbee and he totally destoyed it! I thought cd,s were indestuctable ,apparently not. Knowing my dog, i had the foresight to make a copy. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
To get the game to run i needed a "crack". This i now have .Bearing in mind that i am a novice in computers,my question is;
What do i do with it ? /ccboard/images/graemlins/confused.gif


Q <hr /></blockquote>

I suggest you give the bootleg copy to your mad dog, lol, apologize to him for taking away his toy, and go down to the ph and play pool on a pool table. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

-CM &lt;~~~wonders if Qtec's keyboard has an a'p'o's't'r'o'p'h'e.

Qtec
06-10-2003, 04:10 AM
Thanks for the advice. I do have Kazaa Lite and Morpheus.Kazaa Lite is Kazaa without the spyware .I have the game and the EXE. I just dont know how to insert it.

Q

highsea
06-10-2003, 04:21 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Qtec:</font><hr> Thanks for the advice. I do have Kazaa Lite and Morpheus.Kazaa Lite is Kazaa without the spyware .I have the game and the EXE. I just dont know how to insert it.
<hr /></blockquote>


Run Spybot before and after installing Kazaa Lite, and then tell me it has no spyware. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

CM&lt;~~~Play Pool!

Qtec
06-10-2003, 04:59 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I suggest you give the bootleg copy to your mad dog, lol, apologize to him for taking away his toy, and go down to the ph and play pool on a pool table <hr /></blockquote>
I would like to see you try and get it off him. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

I dont play PC games normally.The only two i have played are 'Tomb Raider' and 'Max Payne'.
This forum is all about exchanging info. Considering your occcupation i assume you could give help me if you wanted to .Thats up to you.The info. that i require is on the web somewhere, but trailing through all those 'crack' sites is a chore.
Patrick is always talking about VP, so i thought i would check it out.Thats all.
What i am good at is teaching people to pot balls and position of the QB.I cant practise on a pool table, its too easy.I end up playing everything with extreme E just to amuse myself.Its a bit like snooker for kids. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
When we first got 9ft pool tables they were commonly referred to as 'dames snooker tafels'. 'Ladies snooker tables'. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
What continues to amaze me is that for such an easy game, there is still so much confusion [ in the US]. The fact that the best ladies players are British and other oversea,s players are rising to the top in the US would seem to suggest that pool is generally taught the wrong way.Fortunately for the US ,there are now US coaches that have seen the benefits of snooker technique and have incorporated them into their methods.The only reason that British snooker players havent taken over is because ther isnt enough money in it.A pro. snooker player can earn more than 10,000 $for a 3 hour demo.
I think you can better use the practise than i can. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Qtec.

Wally_in_Cincy
06-10-2003, 06:30 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Qtec:</font><hr>

....I cant practise on a pool table, its too easy....

<hr /></blockquote>

With that kind of arrogance you should move to France /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Qtec
06-10-2003, 07:25 AM
I did. They deported me to Texas. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
Gotta go ,here comes the Warden. /ccboard/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

highsea
06-11-2003, 04:35 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Qtec:</font><hr> &lt;/font&gt;&lt;blockquote&gt;&lt;font class="small"&gt;Quote:&lt;/font&gt;&lt;hr /&gt;
I suggest you give the bootleg copy to your mad dog, lol, apologize to him for taking away his toy, and go down to the ph and play pool on a pool table <hr /></blockquote>
I would like to see you try and get it off him. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

I dont play PC games normally.The only two i have played are 'Tomb Raider' and 'Max Payne'.
This forum is all about exchanging info. Considering your occcupation i assume you could give help me if you wanted to .Thats up to you.The info. that i require is on the web somewhere, but trailing through all those 'crack' sites is a chore. <hr /></blockquote>

Well, I haven't seen VP3. I don't play computer games. It sounds like you have the game installed, but it is not unlocked, so it won't play. If this is the case, look for the executable that starts the game. It is probably something like vp3.exe. I'm just guessing, but if the crack you have is designed to modify this executable, then when you run the crack it will probably create a new file with the same name. You would have to copy this new executable file into the folder that the other game files are in, and overwrite the original file. When you run the executable vp3.exe (if that's the name), you would then be using the new modified copy of the file.

If this is not what's going on, you will need to be more specific about the crack that you have, if you want me to tell you how to use it.

BTW, I don't advocate using bootleg software anyway. If you have legitimately purchased the software, and made a backup copy for yourself, no problem. If you have registered the software, then you should have no problem calling the company and getting a new activation code, if that is what's needed.

When you run bootleg software on your computer, not only are you stealing from the author of the program, but you run a very real risk of introducing hostile code into your system.

-CM

Qtec
06-11-2003, 05:50 PM
Thank you highsea. I just wanted to find out what all the fuss was about this vp3. Although i have Kazaa i dont download software.Like you say, you never know what you are going to get. A friend made a copy for me ,from the original, so i could check it out. I have no interest in playing pool on the PC. If i want to play i will go to the PH. You cant beat the real thing.
When i said i cant practise on a pool table ,i was just messin. Fact is i cant practise on a snooker table either. I just dont have the patience any more .Years ago i could quite happily practise/play the whole day .
BTW ,i thought the idea of blocking IP numbers was a good idea to stop anonymous posts.


Q

highsea
06-11-2003, 06:33 PM
It's all good.

Hey, I was being a smart a** when I suggested you give the CD do your dog! /ccboard/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

Actually, I have played computer games. I like the Nascar game myself, but since I will never get a chance to drive a real race car 200mph at Daytona, it's the only way I can spin Jeff Gordon out and put him into the wall! /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

The idea of playing pool on a computer does not have any appeal for me, but that doesn't mean someone else shouldn't do it if they want to. Personally, I'd rather watch the bar bangers on the Webcam and laugh at their shooting, while sitting at home in my underwear! But, hey, that's just me! /ccboard/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

As far as practice goes, I think you are probably at a much higher level than me. If I don't practice at least 3 times a week, my game goes straight down the toilet. When I do practice, I don't really run drills, because that isn't fun for me. I play the ghost, and make up games. It is not very disciplined, but I have fun.

Well, anyway, I'm off to the PH. Cheers!

-CM &lt;~~~play pool

Qtec
06-12-2003, 07:49 AM
What webcams ? I looked around and the only one i could find was Carom TV. Know i know what 3 cushion is .Thats not pool! In Holland they play it and the balls are bigger . Is that the same in the US. I can it play for one hour max. After that i want some pockets /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Q

highsea
06-12-2003, 09:53 AM
Caromtv also has a poolcam.

Thus one is in Amsterdam.

http://www.nes-cafe.nl/poolcam.html

-CM