PDA

View Full Version : Lighting

pooldaddy9
06-11-2003, 02:54 PM
Which is better lighting over a table,incadesent or fluorescent? I have 3 - 100 watt bulbs over my table and it seems to be OK. A friend of mine has flouresent bulbs over his table and they don't seem to have as much glare. Is there a preference in lighting?

Chris Cass
06-11-2003, 03:02 PM
Hi ya Pooldaddy,

I grew up on incadesent and believe that it is the best. Although they mostly use flouresent now days for cost effective reasons. Flouresent bulbs flicker and the incadesent is steady. IMO

Regards,

C.C.~~ /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Scott Lee
06-11-2003, 08:17 PM
Although I am no engineer, flourescent and incandescent lights have a different light spectrum. One is red-light oriented, and one is blue-light oriented. The blue light (flourescent) is not as hard on the eyes (for most people), and preferred by most players, as it spreads a more even light pattern on the table. Those bulbs should only flicker if the ballast is not working properly (or the bulbs are about to burn out). BTW, flourescent light provides many more lumens (the measure of "light") than incandescent, with less wattage used. That's why most room owners prefer them. You buy electricity by the kilowatt.
It's probably another case of different strokes for different folks. I, myself, prefer flourescents.

Scott

Nick B
06-11-2003, 08:33 PM
Finally a topic I'm an expert at (lol)....the Engineer in me say florescent by miles.

1. Better coverage (aka points of light thus almost no shadowing.
2. Better energy efficiency.
3. Longer life.
4. Tough to dim but possible.
5. Better quality Florescents have almost perfect light spectrum.
6. "Standard" bulbs run hotter.

Nick

Candyman
06-11-2003, 08:58 PM