PDA

View Full Version : help on buying a cue

traveler
06-17-2003, 05:56 PM
hi, dear all,

I am wondering if anyone would like to give me some advice on buying a cue. I know this kind of questions must have been asked for many times, hope you all don't mind sharing some info again.

I am a newbie in this game, barely made into second or third round in local bar tournaments. I am thinking to buy a cue which may improve my game a bit.

My plan was to buy a cheap sneeky pete with less than $50 that feels like a house cue. I think I probably need to play with cheep cues for sometime to improve my skill before I invest too much in a cue that someone of my level of skill can't appreciate. I used to own a graphite cue, which did not help my game at all, then I turned to one-piece house cues. I found some of them were pretty nice for my level of skill.

My friend ( who is a A player) told me that it would probably waste much of my time if I started to play with cheap cues and better to start with something in $100-200 range. With that much of money, I find Meucci 97-1 and Lucaci sneaky pete are pretty appealing.

So, allow me sum my questions for you,

1) Is it a bad thing to learn the game starting with some cheap cues? How many cues you have been used before you settled with your current cues?

2) Are Meucci 97-M1 and Lucaci sneaky pete good choices for $100-200? What is your suggestion for a cue of sneaky-pete style for this money?

thanks for your time

enjoyed reading posts in this site

travler /ccboard/images/graemlins/confused.gif

JPB
06-17-2003, 06:06 PM