PDA

View Full Version : levleing slates

CRATER59
06-18-2003, 07:39 AM
Greetings,

I would like to know if anyone can provide information on how to level the frame and slates for a GC3. I have to move my table and I would like to do the set up myself. I can assemble the table easily, but the leveling process (slate to slate) is in question. Also, what type of wax is used to fill the seams between the slates? And, one more question, the cloth I have is Simonis 860, I removed it very carefully and it is intact without any rips, it is only 1 yr. old, can I use it again?

I thank any responders in advance.

NBC-BOB
06-18-2003, 09:05 AM
Well I'm no expert, but I have moved and setup 3 or 4 tables over the years,so I'll tell you how I did it.
First level the baseframe to the floor.Next put the 3 pieces of slate in position. The slate gets shimmed from underneath, where needed, on the cross members.You can buy a pack of wooden shims from any hardware store, if you don't want to use the old shims, if there were any?Next take a ball,and slide it across the seams and shim from underneath until you don't feel any seam when sliding the ball across the seam.I've never used beeswax for the seams, only plaster of paris or joint compound.Let the seam compound dry and and sand it, by hand, with a flat sanding block, until it feels perfectly smooth when running your hand across the seam.Now very important! Vacuum and brush several times before installing your old cloth.It is a lot of work, but if your handy with tools it's not to bad.Don't rush it, take your time.Oh when installing the rails,use a long straight edge,across the side pockets to align both rails.Then you can take a ball and slide it along the rail to check the rail alignment.Well I'm tired now after all the work ha-ha. good luck!

06-18-2003, 09:10 AM
http://www.bestbilliard.com/resources/resources.htm

Here you can get some ideas on pool table maintenance, filling slate seams, etc.