PDA

View Full Version : 1-pocket ... how and when did you learn?

Keith Talent
06-26-2003, 11:32 PM
Was watching a good game the other night on 4.15 pockets and remembered how fascinating it can be. Made me think it's about time I took it up. Probably need to buy Rod's book, but I'm wondering at what point the one-hole shooters here started playing the game and how they learned it.

nAz
06-27-2003, 12:51 AM
I'm still learning /ccboard/images/graemlins/frown.gif

I have been playing 1 pocket for about a year now and i believe i can count all the games, lets see about 30 maybe. thats how hard it is to find people to play it with around my local pool halls.

still its a great game.

On a side note I ran an 8 and a 5 in a game of 3C billiards tonight, I did it on a non heated table. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Keith Talent
06-27-2003, 02:28 AM
nAz,

Kinda like John Paul Jones said, I have not yet begun to learn! Except for a few decent games I've watched ... and I'm talking error-free games, 15 mins worth of safes, then a clean runout from a tiny opening.

Anyway, I find it way more entertaining than 14.1, which is like a long slog up a muddy hill to me. But then again, I don't know the finer points of that game, either. Of course, every shot is a big shot, with a swing of a dozen points or more riding on it, but with the endless procession of racks, it all seems like a blur.

But with 1-pocket it's all right there, like in 9 ball, in a way.

Luck with the 3C ... ran 3 (big whoop) a couple of times. Been about 20 years since I've tried it, but it's on the list.

rackmup
06-27-2003, 04:46 AM
How? Forced into it by a crazy lunatic who wouldn't play nineball.
When? Several months ago.
Why? It was the only way to get on a 9' table.
Where? Arlington, Texas (Click's Billiards.)
Did I Learn? Yes...I learned the game can make a sane person nuts.

Regards,

Ken (hard to type in this straight jacket)