PDA

View Full Version : Disgusted with the league

07-01-2003, 09:44 PM
I just started playing in a VNEA league. I figured I would get better playing other players than just my buddy. Tonight something happened that just disgusted me. My opponent played a great safe on me and went and sat down. This was an excellent shot; I even asked him a question as I walked up to the table since I still getting familiar with the rules. The only possible shot I had was a two-cushion bank to the five in the side. I was doubtful I was going to make it. But I called it and pointed my cue at the 5. I was tied up and the only way to shoot was straight ahead of me and he was sitting behind me. I bend over line up on the cue; come forward, and then he jumps in my ear and asks what is the shot. I am a jumpy person and this total screws my shot. I end up sinking the 8 and loosing the game with every ball of mine on the table. I was mad as heck and the only thing I heard was it was within his right to ask cause it is in the rules. That is understandable, but it wasnít like I walked up and just started to shoot. What happened to playing with honor and ethics? When I refused the handshake because I told him I didnít shake hand with cheaters he was offended and said ďI didnít know you were going to shoot that fastĒ. This is a guy who will take 3 minutes to look over a simple cut and use chalk like he sculpting the tip about 20 times. Does crap like this happen often in leagues? I donít mind loosing (donít like it) and I get mad at myself when I sink the eight unintentionally, but I prefer not to have help doing it, and I would never talk to someone as they are shooting, itís just wrong. In my book, thatís cheating. If it were me I would make damn sure I knew my opponents shot as he was bending over at the latest and not as he was moving the stick.

07-01-2003, 10:02 PM
The title should have been league rule, not the league, there are some good people I have meet.

Steve Lipsky