PDA

View Full Version : 8-ball rules question



PeterP
07-07-2003, 08:09 AM
The table is open. You pocket a called ball, but scratch on the same shot. Is the table still open or do you get the group that you pocketed, even though you scratched? Sounds like a simple question, but the rules don't explain it to my satisfaction..

Rich R.
07-07-2003, 08:14 AM
The table is still open until someone "legally" pockets a ball.

Fred Agnir
07-07-2003, 08:28 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote PeterP:</font><hr> The table is open. You pocket a called ball, but scratch on the same shot. Is the table still open or do you get the group that you pocketed, even though you scratched? Sounds like a simple question, but the rules don't explain it to my satisfaction.. <hr /></blockquote>

You have to combine two rules to explain it to your satisfaction.

4.10 CHOICE OF GROUP
The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are made from only one or both groups, because the table is always open immediately after the break shot. The choice of group is determined only when a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot.

4.16 ILLEGALLY POCKETED BALLS
An object ball is considered to be illegally pocketed when (1) that object ball is pocketed on the same shot a foul is committed, or (2) the called ball did not go in the designated pocket, or (3) a safety is called prior to the shot. Illegally pocketed balls remain pocketed and are scored in favor of the shooter controlling that specific group of balls, solids or stripes. legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot.


And just in case further clarification is necessary:

3.20 CUE BALL SCRATCH
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul.

HTH,

Fred