PDA

View Full Version : This is really stressing me out...(help please)

nhp
07-11-2003, 06:46 AM
I am a 23 year old pool player from california. I have been playing pool seriously for about 8 years now. About a year ago I was playing my best, where I was rated an "A" player in the local tournaments. At that time I also worked at a poolhall, and played nearly every day for up to 8 hours. I was forced to quit working there and cut back on playing time because I started going to school full-time. For about 6 months after I stopped playing as often, I still played just as strong, but only played 2-3 times per week (practice, tournaments, cheap action). One day I came in to hit balls and I played really bad. I figured it was just a bad pool day (although I hadn't experienced one to such an extremity in a long time), and I figured I would play better within the next few days. This was a year ago, and I have been out of stroke ever since. I cannot hit the balls cleanly, and nothing feels right (grip, stance, stroke, etc.). I currently play at about half of my best level a year ago. When the problem first started, I tried to play it off for about two months, but to no avail. After that I started changing my mechanics around, but nothing seems to feel comfortable and right. It really bothers me to lose to people in an even match when a year ago I felt comfortable giving them the 7-ball. Can anyone give me advice on how to get back in stroke? One thing I have noticed is that I cannot achieve a smooth and level stroke like I used to. My stroke feels wavy and uncomfortable. I remember when I played good everything was straight and smooth, but I have not been able to achieve that. My cue on some days feels like a heavy lead bar, and on other days feels light as a twig. Any advice is really appreciated.

Thanks!

socrates
07-11-2003, 07:05 AM