PDA

View Full Version : Bolt Weight



Terry
07-24-2003, 06:20 PM
When ordering a new cue with a specific weight, is it better to specify no bolt weight? Does the cue have better balance without the bolt weight? Thanks, Terry

John G
07-24-2003, 10:28 PM
Not really, but it takes a great deal more planning to build a cue with a specific balance point and precise weight without adding a weight screw. The only drawback with a weight screw is it's just something that can come loose. Adding 1 1/2 oz will only move the balance point about 1/8 of an inch. John G

tateuts
07-25-2003, 12:19 PM
Terry,

I assume you're talking about a custom order.

I like having a bolt, or having the handle tapped for one, for a couple of reasons. 1) Bolts can be changed out if you get the cue and want to adjust the weight. They are available in aluminum and steel in a variety of lengths/weights 2) The rubber bumper is held in better if you use a bolt with a screw in it, and 3) If the cue isn't tapped for a bolt, the cue maker will have to use lead or somehing else to weigh the cue (if it comes out too light), which is more likely to come loose.

You can always take the bolt out. Hopefully the maker will tap the butt so the rubber can be used with or without a weight bolt.

Chris