PDA

View Full Version : CCB Tourney Prizes

9 Ball Girl
08-11-2003, 03:47 PM
For you CCBers that are going to play in the tourney in September, Kato and I have been "discussing" how to go about giving out the door prizes. A raffle was suggested and we like that idea.

What do you guys think?

SPetty
08-11-2003, 05:30 PM
Someone last year chastised those many of us who weren't attending for even butting in to your private business of the CCB tourney that a few of you are able to attend, so if you feel that way, please disregard any post I might ever make about the CCB tourney since I can't come because I have to work for a living and get limited vacation time and don't have unlimited wealth and can't do everything I want, and..., um, I mean...

Some of those prizes are pretty darn valuable, and I think it might be a good idea to do something a little more special with the more valuable prizes than just the luck of a raffle. And "raffle" normally means collecting money for tickets - that's not quite what you mean, right?

Some special contests might be fun - prizes for nine on the break or break-n-runs. Or something akin to that old game of getting your choice of either an unopened package or one that someone else has already claimed (although the unopened packages would be opened already...)

If there's enough goodies to go around to the whole crowd, almost any distribution mechanism would work. If there are more people than prizes, someone's going to go away less happy than someone else, so try to ensure that they each had a fair chance at the prize.

However you do it, make it known that it's O.K. to swap and trade and stuff. It would suck to win a prize, even a real nice prize, if you couldn't use it or it didn't work for you.

9 Ball Girl
08-11-2003, 06:51 PM
That sounds good. Thanks SPetty. And besides, I open to all suggestions, regardless if you're in the tourney or not. If you're a CCBer then you're a CCBer, know what I mean?