PDA

View Full Version : Lawyer jokes

wolfdancer
08-22-2003, 03:19 PM
Quote "Rumor has it that B.L. (Before Lawyers, of course), the world was an altogether more pleasant place -- one where peace and tranquility reigned and argumentative people were consigned to caves in the exurbs.

But one aspect of life in the B.L. era was clearly inferior. There just wasn't much to laugh at. It took the introduction of lawyers -- with their stratospheric fees, crafty practices, adversarial attitude and indecipherable language -- to get the humor ball rolling. So thank you, lawyers! We now have the opportunity to chuckle and chortle. And, thanks to the Internet, we can share our guffaws with a friend -- who might even be a lawyer."
From...http://www.nolo.com/humor/jokes.cfm

Barbara
08-22-2003, 03:31 PM
Wait a second Mr. Dunbar.

Aren't you a lawyer by profession?

Barbara~~~remember's some of jd's old posts...

wolfdancer
08-24-2003, 10:17 AM
Au contraire, my dear NEWTonian, I am not legal enough for the legal profession.
In my job, most of the patients I counsel are lovely folk who just drink too much. Sometimes they have other mental health problems. Occassionally they are abusive to me verbally. Rarely, they may be perpetrators of abuse. Now then, it is hard for me to sit in a counsellor's chair and have empathy with someone who has been abusive to me. It is even harder if they actually abuse me verbally in the session, and I find it hardest of all offering support and therapy to perpetrators of hideous acts.

As a trained counsellor, however, I am paid to do this. I have to hold my personal feelings in check, and give support. I do this by acknowledging the boundaries, and never ever ever condone the abusive acts. My patients know that I think their behaviour is unacceptable, but that I recognise it is part of illness behaviour. I therefore help them to face the consequences of their actions, and facilitate change.