PDA

View Full Version : Members Only Pool Room (exploratory)

04-08-2002, 12:31 AM
In order to address such things as Music Volume, Excess Smoke, Loudmouths and more a few in my area(Lower/Central Westchester) have begun to discuss a "members only-smoke free" Pool Room (with perhaps 3-4 tables) for like minded adults of reasonable means. Im sure it has been done before. Does anyone have any experience in this area? Regardless, I would appreciate hearing any intelligent thoughts, tips, ideas etc on the subject. Additionally if you think you might be interested in becoming a member, please Email me at OnthesnapO @aol.com

Doctor_D
04-08-2002, 03:31 AM
Good morning:

While I have no first hand knowledge of any "Members" only Billiard Clubs, the concept does appeals to me. However, like any "Private" club or facility, the members must be ready, willing and able to pay for the cost and up keep of such a facility.

Dr. D.

Rich R.
04-08-2002, 06:16 AM
This tread brings a famous quote to mind. I believe it is from Groucho Marx and I hope I get it right.
"I would not join any club, that would have me as a member."
LMAO. Rich R.

jjinfla
04-08-2002, 08:09 AM
Not a new concept. Back in the 50's-60's there were a lot of social/athletic clubs that were strictly members only. Ours had a bar, with a bar table, and our own football team. Have no idea what kind of city ordinances/regulations you would run into nowadays. But it would most likely be an expensive undertaking. And be prepared to spend a lot of time to organize and run it. You can order 4 tables from Barry after the US Open is over for 4K each. (I think that is what he said the selling price will be.) Jake

Ken
04-08-2002, 09:26 AM
You can get oak tables from Diamond for $3675. $400 more for Dymondwood rails. Depends on which type of wood is at the open and if the lights are included whether you are getting a good deal or not.