PDA

View Full Version : Research Question

04-09-2002, 01:35 PM
Hi

I'm a freelance writer doing a little research for a project and came across this page while searching for information on some of the common "problems" with the house cues found in bars, etc. (Are they generally warped or unbalanced? Are the tips too worn down?) I know it's kind of an odd question and I don't need a great deal of information - just a few points. I'd really appreciate any insights anyone cared to offer. This is all for background only. I need the info to fill in holes in my own understanding. I'm sure there's a world of difference between a custom cue and the average beat-up stick hanging in my neighborhood bar, but I don't know enough to know what those differences are.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Best, Cara

Retardo
04-09-2002, 02:00 PM
They are usually shaped like a banana though not near as symetrical.

The tips are usually loose, mishapen, askew, hard or all 4. (Trying to see a shot over an askewed tip is impossible).

The shafts have more bangs (not dings) in them than Madonna or Cher if you prefer. They are sticky and dirty 90% of the time making a smooth stroke difficult.

They are not properly balanced and not likely to be the weight you want.

They do not permit consistency.

Would you use a random bat for baseball or a random tennis racket or a random driver for golf?

I think not!

04-12-2002, 09:55 AM