PDA

View Full Version : I played one pocket!!!

bluewolf
09-22-2003, 04:37 AM
I walked into the pool hall and after watching me for a few minutes, this older gentleman (60 ish) offered to play some with me. Now in this pool hall, they all play op but they have never tried to get me to gamble at any pool game since I am a beginner (1 year of playing).I guess if it came down to that, I would gamble for table rate which is $2.60 an hour. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

First we played 8-ball and he got out in two innings, whatever that means as far as his skill.

Then we played op. The first game I did not do too good and the final score was 3-8. I was disapointed I did not get more balls in but he said he did worse on his first op game. We played again and as luck would have it, score was reversed 8-2.

When I played matchups before our APA 8-ball matches, I was never very motivated, it was just warming up for me, but I was real motivated to beat this guy, almost to the intensity of a real match. Odd???

I have always known I wanted to play this game but put it off because my banking is not good. Really need to work on that. 8-ball and 9-ball are okay and I know I need to be proficient at them too, so not to be lopsided but op just seems a lot more interesting.

It looks like I will be in op land for this week and the next and I plan to take advantage of this and the low rates at this pool hall.

Don't know if anyone is interested, but this is an exciting new discovery for me. Can't wait to get back to the poolhall today. /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Laura

pooltchr
09-22-2003, 07:04 AM
Enjoy, Laura. Just be careful. OP can be quite addictive!
Steve

OnePocketChamp
09-22-2003, 07:36 AM
You are going to find that if you continue to play op your skill level will vastly improve in 8 ball. This will occur in two ways 1. cb control 2. increased confidence in banking. Good luck and stay with op----it's a great game.

bluewolf