PDA

View Full Version : Frozen Ball



stick8
09-24-2003, 10:00 PM
Ihave afrozen ball at bottom rail,cue ball at top rail. I slow roll the cue and hit objict ball, it moves up table, but does not touch a rail. the cue hits bottom rail and stops. have I fouled?????? STICK

Chris in NC
09-24-2003, 10:28 PM
Stick, as you've described it, as long as the cue-ball hits the object ball first before contacting the the bottom rail, it makes no difference whether the object ball is frozen and it is a legal hit. The frozen object ball (and only if it is deemed to be frozen by your opponent or by the TD) means that if the cue-ball fails to strike another rail, the object ball must strike another rail other than the one it is frozen to. - Chris in NC

jjinfla
09-25-2003, 04:38 AM
An easy way to remember this rule is to remember that "after a legal hit of the object ball any ball, or CB, must strike a rail, or be pocketed". Of course if it is the OB striking a rail then it must strike a rail other than the one it is frozen to.

And of course, someone has to state that the OB is frozen before it is considered frozen.

Jake

Rod
09-25-2003, 09:14 AM
[ QUOTE ]
means that if the cue-ball fails to strike another rail <hr /></blockquote>

Chris,

Perhaps you meant to say "a" rail? It's not necessary the c/b strike "another rail" other than the one the o/b is frozen to.

Rod