PDA

View Full Version : APA Can a coach commit a foul ??



Wally_in_Cincy
10-10-2003, 07:52 AM
Hre's the scenario:

The opposing team's player does <font color="red">not</font color> have BIH and it is her turn to shoot. She asks for a coaching timeout. During the timeout the coach accidentally touches the cue ball and moves it about 6 inches. He looks at me. I shrug and say "Move it back" because I don't believe this is addressed in the APA rules.

Could this be a foul in APA? In other leagues?

breaknrun1
10-10-2003, 08:15 AM
Absolutely. See rule 9g in the 8-ball game rules. It states in short, "Causing even the slightest movement or altering the course of the cue ball, even accidentally, is a foul. Even dropping the chalk on the cue ball is a foul."

I commited a foul about 2 months ago when I was coaching my dad. He laid his cue down on the table about six inches from the cue ball and when I went to move his cue, I accidently hit the cue ball. /ccboard/images/graemlins/blush.gif

Hope this helps.

Kelly

Wally_in_Cincy
10-11-2003, 02:02 PM
Anyone?

Yes, I'm begging.

Wally~~Pogued again /ccboard/images/graemlins/frown.gif

jjinfla
10-11-2003, 05:16 PM
You didn't read the rule book far enough. Look at rule 9j:

...If the player, or coach fouls in the process of placing the cue ball, it will be ball in hand for the opponent.

Jake