PDA

View Full Version : Handicaping

Terry
10-10-2003, 08:25 AM
Hi all, I'm just a small town shooter with a lifetime passion for the game. The last couple of years i've been content shooting weekly ( 8-ball )tournaments in my home town but last year they tailed of to the point of extinction. I learned that they had weekly 9-ball ( which I prefer ) tournaments in a town 40 miles down the road which are handicapped. I would love to play bigger tournaments in the cities but my family commitments are full and besides my daughter plays so when I make an overnight trip to the city it's for her to play. Anyways, I started playing in these handicapped tournaments once in a while just to get a tournament in. They started me as a 6 HC with 10 being the highist HC. I won my first tournament as a 6 and they bumped me up to an 8 for my next one, I won that one as well, so for my third they bumped me up to a 9 which I lost. This year i've only made it to six tournaments in which my handicap stayed as a 9, the thing is that I won all six and they didn't bump me up to a 10. Some players are telling me I should be a 10 when I play them, I tell them I don't care what my handicap is that I just want to play a tournament once in awhile.I also told the people heading the tournaments that it dosen't matter to me what my handicap is, but I don't think it's my place to request to bumped up. Terry

Alfie
10-10-2003, 10:40 AM