PDA

View Full Version : Adopt-a Student

Sid_Vicious
10-26-2003, 08:54 AM
I'm beginning today with tutoring a 12yr old, pro bono, in her pool education. It's my goal to learn as much in the process as she does, teaching raw fundamentals does that for me, and my game certainly could use a refresher course in that area, as most anyone elses' I imagine. As far as I know at this time, she's nearly an absolute beginner so my plan is to start with a complete revamping of a solid stance, proper grip, concept of pre shot routine, chalking techniques, and then drill on straight in(some lengthy) shots to refine stroke habits early. Also, I'll use video taping for visual feedback. Assuming that I can keep enough fun in these lessons(kids could be impatient and quit being there's actual work involved), I'm figuring to have this student for several weeks or months to come.

Anyway, I'm excited to start this. It's been a while since I worked with anyone this new to the sport, and I've never worked with anyone this young. Something tells me that she will develop well, simply because there is an interest already in computer pool at home and the situation in her life doesn't allow her many outside freedoms which distract many young people, so I'll probably have a captive audience.

I didn't post this to tout my abilities or my free lessons, I instead posted to suggest that you might think if there's anyone you could take under the wing and give your pool knowledge to. It beats the heck out of them learning the old fashion way,,,by hit and miss. Plus I'll wager that you too will have some A-HA! moments just because you resurface fundamentals you've gotten rusty with. Just a thought...sid

ras314
10-26-2003, 11:38 AM
Sounds like a win-win situation. Like to hear how it turns out.

cheesemouse
10-26-2003, 11:42 AM
Sid,