PDA

View Full Version : Frustration...

Dalesa7xchamp
10-26-2003, 06:09 PM
I just Started playing seriously about 3 months ago, and im getting pretty good at reading my shots and such. The biggest problem i have is i get very frustrated when i miss and/or "the balls are just rolling right for the other person".

For Example i was playing my friend, and i am a far better player than he... the first rack i run the table and jaw the 9. he of course makes it, he then breaks leaves the 9 right near the corner and snookers me on the 1. I kick at the 1, miss he gets ball and hand and hits an easy combo.

Next rack i have a relivatly good chance at running out.. and i miss an "automatic" shot because of my frustration, but then beacuse i miss, i become more frustrated.

Just curious if you can give me some advice so i dont get frustrated or how to calm down if i do???

Thanks alot.... Mike

stick8
10-26-2003, 06:37 PM
Hello mike: sounds to me like your friend is not beating you, you are beating yourself!!! you are not finishing up!! think finish up, finish up.and no shot is automatic. 100% on every shot make the shots, and your frustrations will go away. good luck STICK

Allan
10-26-2003, 07:00 PM
I started playing less that a year ago and miss a ton of shots....

This may sound overly simplistic but I just concentrate on the next ball I have to make. There is nothing I can do to change what I've already done. If I miss I try and review what happened to see if I can learn by correcting some sort of error I had in that shot. The last thing I want to do is get emotionally involved with previous shot, good or bad, to the point where I can't concentrate on what my task at hand now is. It's just a matter of staying focused on what my objective is and trying to leave results of what already happened in the past.