PDA

View Full Version : Technique question

fast n loose
10-27-2003, 04:19 PM
I'm fairly new to the game, or at least new to devoting time and effort to actually practicing shots that are difficult for me. Anyhow, I have difficulty with long shots where the cue ball is frozen to the rail, even if it's a relatively straight shot. Situations like this:
START(%JF4G0%Pr8M9%R]3_1%eB5`5)END
are difficult for me to make more than 50-60% of the time--I just have trouble getting enough "meat" of the cue ball to make it go in the direction that I want it to. Currently on this shot I use an open bridge and a relatively level cue stick; should I be raising the butt end of the cue? Any suggestions on how to make this type of shot any easier?

Cueless Joey
10-27-2003, 04:52 PM
Make sure you hit the ball right in the center axis.
Line up the highest point of the ball to the line of the shot.
If you "grip" the cue, you will surely miss.
Let it slide.

tateuts
10-27-2003, 04:53 PM
These shots are difficult for all players. They are delicate and there is no room for error. I watched Jimmy Reid playing off the rail and it changed the way I did it.

The hard part about rail shots is hitting the cue ball in the dead center (of the verticle axis). I suspect you are hitting right or left of center which will quickly squirt the cue ball right off the path.

So, you have to be very careful with setup and aim before you stroke the ball. Make sure you're on the line and in the middle of the cue ball. You definitely want an open bridge, but a pretty flat one and a long one, with your fingers extended resting on the edge of the table. You also want a pretty level cue (on long rail shots at least), and you do want to get down low on the shot but still keeping your body and head back - to keep your normal balance and perspective on the shot.