PDA

View Full Version : Custom cue weight

miko
11-03-2003, 09:03 AM
I know that I can't order a custom cue and ask for a specific weight since it would be hard for the cuemaker to make a cue that weighs exactly what the customer wanted, except probably if he uses weight bolts. How much usually should the range for the weight be asked from a cue maker? .5 oz? (eg. 19-19.5 oz). I'm asking this since the cue I got from a cuemaker seems to be way off the weight I requested.

JimS
11-03-2003, 09:12 AM
I'm no expert. That said I believe that you certainly CAN expect a custom cue to be exactly the weight you specified. I think that's one of the things that "custom" means. Weigh the cue and talk to the maker. He should make it right. If he doesn't I'd tell the whole world right here. and I'd let him know I was going to take that means of recourse.

Fred Agnir
11-03-2003, 09:27 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote miko:</font><hr> I know that I can't order a custom cue and ask for a specific weight since it would be hard for the cuemaker to make a cue that weighs exactly what the customer wanted, except probably if he uses weight bolts. <hr /></blockquote> This is incorrect for the most part. And, even if he uses weight bolts, what's wrong with that? If the cuemaker can put the balance point wherever you want and still uses a weight bolt, would that be bad?

Fred

cycopath
11-03-2003, 09:32 AM
I've had two custom cues made. And both times I've asked for specific weights, 19.3oz and 19.7oz. Both times this was accomplished without using weights.

miko
11-03-2003, 10:48 AM
Thanks for the replies.. my cue was way off the weight that i wanted. It was off by at least more than .5 oz. The has advised me to drill a hole in the butt and put in the extra weight to achieve the weight /ccboard/images/graemlins/smirk.gifI want.

miko
11-03-2003, 10:51 AM