Thread: looking for a new cue

looking for a new cue

ok so I've used a multitude of cues, some my own, others not, I've been playing for almost 10 years but have only owned 3 cues totalling a measly 400 dollars that are a cheap 11 dollar walmart cue, a cuetec that broke last weekend on me and a used predator I bought off a friend. Due to tough times, in my life right now, paying off university costs, a marriage and legal costs I'm looking at spending no more than 200 dollars on a cue. I liked the cuetec cuz I could break with it and it was nearly indestructible untill I got mad and snapped it over my knee. But I liked the way it played except for the super stiff hit it gave me. I'm looking for a cue with an implex joint because I could get the feel more, but I couldn't get super close accuracy I could get playing with my friends 5280 or joss. i think annther issue with my ball control is the use of a 20 ounce cue, it's a little heavy for my height and weight, and if I'm not going to break with this new cue, I could get used to a 17 or 18 ounce cue. So theres my story, I've got the "diamond system" down, can play Carom and have played in 15 tournaments winning NONE due to the handicap I get assigned. So let me know what cue you'd suggest for me, I wish I could spend more on it but I'm living paycheck to paycheck pretty much.

Re: looking for a new cue

I'm was confused by your words. Are you looking for a cue with an implex joint or not?

At under $200, you have a very wide choice. Players, Viking, McDermott, 5820, etc. If you've played with many of them, pick one. Get the weight down to 19 or 18, and break with a house cue or buy a cheap J&J break cue.

Buy on-line from someone like www.billiardwarehouse.com or take a chance on eBay.

Good luck,

My somewhat smartass answer is: If you're prone to getting mad and snapping cues over your knee, then maybe you ought to stick with the $11 WalMart cues...