Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rules question concerning scotch doubles, 8-ball

  1. #1

    Rules question concerning scotch doubles, 8-ball

    <font color="blue"> </font color> I have a question for those of you that have played in scotch doubles tournaments. How do they handle the question of coaching and the two team mates communicating with one another?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    12 blocks from the mighty Mississippi
    Posts
    1,425

    Re: Rules question concerning scotch doubles, 8-ball

    I don't know if it is the same everywhere, but here in corn country, LOL, the teammates are allowed to speak freely when not at the table. When one of them is at the table, however, they are allowed one coach per game, nothing more. They can not tell you how or what to shoot from the sideline either. That would be considered a coach.

    Heide

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    5,408

    Re: Rules question concerning scotch doubles, 8-ball

    That is going to vary depending on the area and the league/tournament rules. We let players have a few quick words if necessary. If it was more than that they had to call a time out. Only one per game. The BCA S/Doubles in Vegas lets partners talk when not shooting. When it's their turn no conversation is allowed unless it is their one time out per game.

    Rod
    <span style="color: blue">be smooth; better control and power with less effort.</span>

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    7,742

    Re: Rules question concerning scotch doubles, 8-ball

    The tourneys I have played in around here (mostly APA players) also allow one time-out per game. It's mainly to keep the matches moving at a reasonable pace.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    DFWTX
    Posts
    3,873

    Re: Rules question concerning scotch doubles, 8-ball

    I've always been under the impression that BCA Scotch Doubles 8-Ball does not allow any coaching or time outs, but that you are allowed to talk when it's not your turn at the table. My question has always been - when does your turn start?

    As others have pointed out, however, it's often a local thing where one coaching time out is allowed.

  6. #6
    Guest

    Re: Rules question concerning scotch doubles, 8-ball

    the way we play it, bca-vegas league, is that your turn starts when you "assume the table". you can keep talking strategy or whatever till you actually get up and approach the table.

    dan...should say the way they play and i used to til i quit 'cause i hate scotch doubles.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •