Thread: Heinz 57 tips.......

Heinz 57 tips.......

Any reports from users of the "heinz 57 tips", a layered tip cut down with something else on top?
    I tried it this week and I was amazed for the first three days of use. I've been using layered tips (Instroke, Hercules), for the past three years and have not found one that kept its playing consistent for more than 4-6 weeks, glazing over, not holding chalk. I was about ready to go back to Triangles when I saw Spiderman's post about the "heinz 57". I cut my Hercules down to about 4-5 mm in height and took a used Elkmaster (already played into shape
    but removed for a customer) and put that on top.
    I went to hit balls with it(9 foot tables), and it felt a little softer, but I had no aiming adjustment period that I thought that I would have. After a few minutes, I played the ghost to 7 and lost HH (my break wasn't getting the table spread) Then a local kid came in jawing at me cause the ghost beat me....and I've been playing him some lately to help him along. He got the 7-8 wild for a 7-1 loss, the 6-7-8 wild for a 7-2 loss, and then we tried the 5 out, but I blew a gasket....the kid can play if you give him room. In Valley league the next night I ran out the first four times to the table and won the last one after a safety battle.
    I'm looking for some feedback from any users of this set-up. I'm hoping this wasn't just in my head, but an actual improvement in tip performance. Anybody?
    A day without pool is a wasted day......

Re: Heinz 57 tips.......

Dafatman,

I doubt there are many users out there to report. Few people are curious enough to go to so much trouble when there are already lots of good tips available. I guess I'm just a mad scientist at heart.