Thread: Learning Billiards

Learning Billiards

I'm new to billiards and I was wondering if there was a website that could teach me things like English and that sort of stuff...

Re: Learning Billiards

http://www.easypooltutor.com/
    Try this site. It was very helpful to me and one I frequently visit. Good luck.

books, videos, and websites are good to get basic information, but the best thing you can do is get a QUALIFIED instructor to work personally with you. It's not as expensive as you might think, and you can gain a lot more from it. The BCA has a list of instructors on their web site www.bca-pool.com go to "play" then "instruction" then list of active instructors.
    Good Luck.
    PBIA Professional Advanced Level Billiard Instructor

How new? If you are honestly picking up a cue for the proverbial first time, then I will say that you should explore books and video instructional BEFORE investing in personal instruction, especially the pricey lessons by certified BCA instructors. Get your foundation and general understanding about the stance and stroke first, else you will end up paying for the first round of lessons, and then be needing to buy the same round all over again soon afterwards. The ideal scenario is to have a friend who had been through the gambit of lessons via the supposedly certified instructors, and your friend can pre-empt you on much of the same stuff. Btw, Fast Eddie Parker's tape is very well priced for what you get, 3 hours of instruction, beginning with the raw fundamentals, it used to be 29.99. JM2C sid
    "If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much room!"

I'm also new at pool. the http://www.easypooltutor.com/ website is awesome. <font color="blue"> </font color> Thank u everyone for the good advice. [img]/ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
    I have no signature. hmmm... I'm sure i'll think of something.