Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: 8-Ball Rules -Help!!!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    107

    8-Ball Rules -Help!!!

    "Bank shots and combination shots are not considered obvious, and care should be taken in calling both the object ball and the intended pocket." World Standardized Rules, 8-Ball, BCA.

    I always thought that a bank shot is a kick shot until I watched Jeanette Lee's video about kick shot.
    My questions are
    1) is a kick shot considered an obvious shot?

    2) let's say I intend to sink on object ball (ball A) into a pocket (let's say Pocket A) infront of it. but i miscue and the direction of ball A is not straight to the pocket. on its way, it contacts another object ball (ball B), and the deflection makes the intended ball go into pocket A. i believe such shot is still obvious and no call is to be made prior to that shot. Am i right?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    DFWTX
    Posts
    3,873

    Re: 8-Ball Rules -Help!!!

    Actually, BeanDiesel, the other board was the right place for this question, so I've responded over there!

    This board is just for the "how-to"s of the mechanics of the site for folks new to the site, not new to pool...

    See you on the other board! [img]/ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    107

    Re: 8-Ball Rules -Help!!!

    ooh really, i thought the other board isn't the right one for this question. thanks a lot SPetty.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    91

    Re: 8-Ball Rules -Help!!!

    For clearification: a "kick shot" is when the cue ball strikes a rail first before contacting the object ball. A bank shot is where the cue ball strikes the object and it banks of a rail.

    In your example: In a game where the rules are "call pocket" - if the ball you call is pocketed according to your "call" then it is a legal shot. If it kisses your ball - that incidental. If it kissed your apponenents ball (in 8-Ball) it is a foul.

    When the rules are "call pocket" then calling every aspect of the shot is not required and is not to your advantage.

    When a player's game is at the advance level we like "call shot" which is calling every single aspect of the shot, kisses, # of rails, carums, combos. I guess it's a pride thing because if we succeed we want our apponent to know it wasn't an accident!

    "Murhpy's Law Strickly Enforced Here"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •